Expressions of the Soul

Blockhead!

Yes, you read that correctly. I am a blockhead (to borrow that from Charlie Brown). Or rather my head is blocked. No, not by a winter cold (although I did have one of those and they always take me down!) but by the lack of thoughts of any significance.
I cannot believe it is the middle of the first month of the new year. I did finally get the Christmas decorations put away…all except that one thing I missed. That happens every year. I usually do not notice until a week or so later and there it is…generally right in front of me. I very carefully looked around, hoping to avoid that this year. Nope! Fortunately the containers were stored in a place where I could reach them.
Next is the final attempt at my workroom. I really looks like a war-torn village at this point. I have been chipping away at it. Only I can see the vast difference!
As I mentioned I have been blocked and when this happens I can generally shift that by looking through my favorite publications from Somerset. This time all I felt was overwhelmed by all I am not doing. The other place I love to go is to Anthropologie. Their store always amazes me. The displays are mind-blowing. At Christmas there was a dress form decked in a lovely sweater, top and billowing skirt and the skirt was continued into a long train…made of cedar shingles. Sounds odd, doesn’t it? Thinking of wood as being flowing seems impossible. They somehow came up with the way to do just that very thing. It would be fascinating to be a fly on the wall at one of the brainstorming sessions for their displays. Okay, enough of my fantasy life!
After my final show in December I went to visit the doctor. I did not realize how awful I was feeling until I sat in her office and we talked about things. For one, my pelvis was out of alignment. (I know! Who ever heard of that?) Well, it was nearly a miracle how much better I felt after that. I don’t know how one goes about keeping a straying pelvis in alignment, but my energy level is double what it was (I was at glacier speed before, now I am practically beyond tortoise!) and I want to keep it going toward, oh, giraffe. I went for that animal because they are graceful when they move, like it is no big deal!
As anyone who knows me is aware, I spent the past year doing a great deal of walking, for weight loss. I am amazed at the results and am about halfway to where I need to be. I am beginning the next phase and know I must accomplish this in order to have a vibrant life experience as I travel toward the “senior” part of my journey. I am doing some inner work as I prepare for this and I do believe that has something to do with the blockhead portion of my life. So, I am taking a deep breath, focusing on what is in front of me and visioning where I want to go. I am grateful for all I have. I am grateful for you. And, now, I am going on, around the “block”! Until next time we meet!

Leave a Reply

