Expressions of the Soul

Where to begin

Where to begin. Well, that is often the most difficult thing to figure out, isn’t it? Most of us have so much in our lives that it often becomes so overwhelming we just do not know what to do to begin. One of the most profound things I have ever read was from a member of the New Thought movement, Dr. Ernest Holmes. He said, “Begin right where you are.”
WOW! Where else can we begin? That is the most simple way of thinking of things, especially if we are practicing living in the Now. If our workspace is witness to the creative frenzy of the last project, well, that is in the past. In order to get to where we [think] are going, we have to begin understanding we cannot change what has already happened except to know we can make where we are better, just by beginning to envision what we want our Now to look like. (Do I get an award for the longest run-on sentence?)
One of my dearest friends in the entire world is a wonderful folk artist who lives across from me…on the opposite coast of the continent! I could go on forever how much she means to my heart. I don’t get to see her as often as I would like. (duh!) I don’t even talk to her as often as I’d like – but that is okay. When we do share the same time and space it is like we were together five minutes ago – except for the speed at which we are sharing! All this this to say that in March I get to travel to her side of the country with my suitcase full of my work. We will be joined by several other artists in a s-m-a-l-l town, where folks will arrive to visit and be tempted by the madness of our creativity. Such fun!
Before that even, is the local quilt show. I cannot believe it, but it is my eighth year of participating in this show! You are not going to believe this, but living where I am now (in the town) is the longest I’ve lived anywhere as an adult. Yep, it is true. Now you understand a little better my business name! Back to the upcoming event…which is such a lovely show. One of the best on the central coast of California. The guild does a terrific job of making it a true showcase of the local artists work. We are very blessed by the talented individuals who share themselves in such a variety of ways.
I will have a few new patterns to offer for sale at this next show. I am very excited to share them with you. I will even have some pictures to post and a couple of new things on Etsy this week!
With all that said, I’d better get started! Remember to leave a comment and tell a like-minded friend to check out the madness going on here! If you want any details as to where and when I’ll be out and about just e-mail me and I’ll be glad to share! Here I go…beginning…

Leave a Reply

