Expressions of the Soul

What Comes Next?


Yes, that is the question of the day…what shall I do next? That is the trouble with too many choices. I find that to be so no matter what I am doing. I have created some of the best meals ever from using the odd bits from the pantry and freezer in ways I would have never thought, because I had too many other choices. Yes, the same with my studio. I have created some of my best pieces because I only had so much time in which to create. (Okay, no matter how I try, I guess I work best under a time crunch.)
The truth of the matter is I get overwhelmed and making a decision is just too difficult. I think there is a medical term for folks like me, but I don’t want to label myself, then I’ll become the label – for sure!
I have begun packing the studio even though I still have a few orders to fill. I know there are certain things I will not be using for those orders so they can lovingly be stowed away until we are reunited in Chico in the new studio setting. I am very excited by this new creative space. The house we will be in is charming and private, and the neighborhood is quiet. All ideal for just being with your soul’s work.
Friends have begun inviting us for “one last evening” together. The days are beginning to roll along more rapidly and before you know it, moving day will be here.
So, here is a photo of some of the pins I finished up on the airplane (yes, I took it ON the plane!) as I headed toward Spring Green, Wisconsin for the Bag Lady Shop Hop. I made three styles of pins (some were hearts and some crows) so everyone who worked in the shop and rode the bus could have one (and no two were alike). You know, Mom always said it was good manners to have a little something for all your new friends to remember you by.
This brings me to the point of wondering what shall I do next today? Thanks for reading and remember to leave a comment so I know you were here and feel free to pass me on to others!

5 responses

  1. David

    Such honest and inspiring writing! You truly have an artist’s soul and heart. I love the look of all those pins in the photo – great use of color and design, for sure. Good luck with your new studio – hope it is all you dream of, and more.

    May 21, 2009 at 10:48 pm

  2. Halloween Fanatic

    I am getting ready to start on new watercolor postcards as soon as I have the first one finished I will send it to you. Life has been crazy here, it is coming I promise…

    May 23, 2009 at 11:52 pm

  3. beth

    Hello,
    I just read a wonderful comment you wrote on our Blog on March 28 (I'm new to blogging, so didn't see it) But wanted to say Thank YOu for your compliments on our work! I have looked at your beautiful work & am touched by it! Please contact me if you have any interest in being a featured artist on our Online newsletter, The Quill and Well. Please stop by our blog to see what we've been up to lately 🙂 & keep up the inspirational work & blogging!
    Beth Merryfield
    M&M Dry Goodes
    http://mandmdrygoodes.blogspot.com/

    May 27, 2009 at 3:14 am

  4. Rhondi

    Hi
    Thanks for coming to my party. I think the pins you made are very cool. I have some friends here in NC who grew up in Wisconsin. They don’t miss the winters!

    June 2, 2009 at 3:49 pm

  5. Rhondi

    I don’t know where I got the idea you were from Wisconsin!! Your profile says you grew up in Ohio. Silly me!

    June 2, 2009 at 3:51 pm

Leave a Reply

