Expressions of the Soul

The Falling Leaves Drift by my Window


Here we are, wondering where has the summer gone? I did wonder on those days of 100 degrees (+) if summer would ever come to an end! It was official on Monday, last. The lifeguards were finished making certain no one broke any of the posted rules at the pool. Their summer job was no more. This caused me to reflect on the passing of one season into another.
There are already leaves gently cascading downward and finding their way into the flower beds. They are nestled in amongst the ripening tomatoes which still cling to the vines. Soon the leaves will cover the entire lawn, fill the gutters, perfume the air with the fragrance only a leaf in the fall has and make that noise that only leaves do as you walk through them.
Still, turning my attention toward pumpkins and (gasp!) Santas just eludes me. I have done a few autumnal things, but, for some reason I just do not want to give myself to the embrace of fall. The truth is I know once I acknowledge autumn is here, Christmas and all it’s madness is not far behind.
This all feels new and unknown in our new town. We have been here now for two full months. As we were unpacking and determining what would go where, it seemed as if we would never be done. There are still a few unfinished things to attend to, but, for the most part, we are finished making our new home.
Now it is time to turn my attention to our fall show schedule and finding out where exactly did I put those display pieces and all the things I take on the road with me. On September 26 and 27, you will find us at Alden Lane Nursery in Livermore, California. This is the second year for us vending there. I am so looking forward to the beauty of that setting. We are in the exact same spot as last year – right next to the birds!
I hope they like the birds I am bringing this year. I have always enjoyed the symbol of birds and what they represent. They certainly are master architects! I have been blessed to stumble upon several nests. They grace a shelf in my studio and I find comfort and beauty in them.
The birds pictured above (will be at the show and for sale) are made from one of my patterns. I will have several new patterns available there for the first time. Six new patterns in all! Five are a series to make individually (each pattern has four sections!) or as a whole. You can even punch needle them in just a little bit of time. They make terrific gifts or just a little something to spiff up a hat, tote, lapel, or a package. You know me, I have lots of ideas for how to use things – but that is another whole blog!
So, until next time, I hope you are filling your life with things and experiences that mean something to your soul. Come see us in Livermore from 9:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. Thank you for spending time with me today. Be sure to bookmark and or subscribe to my blog so you can see just what I am up to!

2 responses

  1. Cheryl

    Wow — Fall already. I love your birds. They are so creative and individualized. Miss you guys.

    September 10, 2009 at 10:42 pm

  2. Lynn

    How nice to read through your blogs (I am pitifully behind on all personal "stuff" as having Alex with me during the summer was like running away from adult reality for thirteen weeks!!) – and I must apologize for being out of touch throughout your move and subsequent setting up of the household and studio —- but at any rate, it sounds like you have taken to the task wonderfully, as usual 🙂

    I, too, love your new birdies – they are darling! and the pillow – SO lovely…. Carolyn, your work continues to be so unique, and has such a tenderness about it – like touching people from the past in a way. I mean actually touching them^

    There should be more of "you" in the world – then there wouldn't be a "need' for war. I think people who have lost the past have no hope of really understanding the present. They think they do, but that's an illusion.

    So, at any rate, I'll blog off for now, and send you creative vibes 🙂 That silly Muse – she's just been napping in a quiet corner while you were slugging away in the 100+ days…. she's nobody's fool!!!

    Here's to falling leaves, those unique smells of Autumn, the plunking of acorns, the symphony of crickets and cicadas, and these lovely evenings~ yes, perfect for walking!

    We are foster parenting a ten+ year old – ninety pound dog until Christmas or near after, and he loves to walk – a nice, slow pace. Very fun 🙂 Lou (now about thirteen years old) is a "puller" when we walk – and I usually end up with her at the end of my leash. Maybe tonight I'll get Hoby! I'd like that 🙂

    Just think – it is almost soup time :):):)

    Good luck at your show(s) – keep us all posted!! I'm back in my studio, too, but that is a slow go due to re-organization, too. The bain of a creative heart.

    Love you always~ Lynn

    September 11, 2009 at 9:24 pm

Leave a Reply

