Expressions of the Soul

New!


New. Yes, this is a new blog. How new? Well, in my normal way of doing things I lost my nearly complete blog I had ready to post a few moments ago.

I’d shared how grateful I am for all the folks I’ve encountered this past year. For all the experiences I had. For the neighbor who on Christmas day brought us dinner, which was welcomed because David and I had not planned a special dinner being it was just the two of us this year.

I shared the visit to our favorite places when we traveled for our post holiday trip we take annually. We renew friendships with shop owners, marvel at the antiques we dream about and lament the ones we did not come home with last year.

There were the thoughts of how clear the ideas are in the wee hours of the morning when sleep escapes me and the brain-chaos that ensues once the sun comes up and it is time to actually get started on the million ideas I had earlier!

I am still making peace with the new location we find our selves in. It has been a slow process and is very different from any other place I have lived (and that’s saying something!). I love looking at the primroses and winter flowers blooming amidst the gloom of winter.

I did add a few new inspiration points to my studio (yes, you probably wonder where I put them!) and the one I keep closest has a quote about leaping fearlessly to do the thing you never thought you could do. Yeah. Leaping is a scary thing. Once you leap there is no going back. Either you fall into something or you just hover there. I prefer falling. At least you know which direction to take…either forward or in a different direction.

Which brings me to this wonderful new collection pictured in the photo above. We stopped by one of our quilt store haunts just on a whim on New Year’s eve…first of all they were still open and it was their annual 40% off storewide sale! WOW! Good for them and good for the customer! So, now I have new opportunities to create with these lovely new fabrics. My fingers are itching to get started. There are also new rubber stamps. Watch for those to appear also!

Enough for now. Enjoy the newness of the year, own your truth and let your spirit soar freely. Be new every day.

9 responses

  1. David

    I am so proud of you….you always find ways to say things that put a positive face forward. It sounds like your are on the verge of a great explosion of creative zeal! Good luck sleeping once that starts!

    January 4, 2010 at 9:11 pm

  2. Pam

    Dear Carolyn, Happy New Year! I am hoping you teach a class at Honey Run this year! I saw your pattern on the wall of wool and though woohoo! Everyone loved my wool flower corsage all winter long since I bought it at the Chico quilt show…Did I make it? No, but a very talented lady did make it…and I hope they found you…Glad you are walking, I found that this weather is easier to stay inside! We are remodeling our kitchen and it has been a big challenge. I am excited to be going back to work at the Chico State Library Tuesday! Let me know when you have a class! Pam

    January 11, 2010 at 3:46 am

    • Hi, Pam! Good to hear from you. Happy New Year to you as well. Yes, I am due to teach the wool flower class at Honey Run on February 5! I will have a couple of variations of it. You should come hang out with me…it would be nice to see a friendly face on this my first venture out! Oh, remodeling will test a person’s character all right! Hope it is turning out as you envisioned. Take care and again, it was good to hear from you. Carolyn

      January 11, 2010 at 3:55 am

  3. Sara

    Happy to follow your adventures!

    January 13, 2010 at 7:03 pm

  4. Pam Runner

    Hi Carolyn, I love the idea of of one thought at a time and wandering through the now of it, instead of the past. Thank you for that thought…I am practicing it now! I loved reading your blog as well. I was glad to hear that you connected with Honey Run Quilters…I think her name is Sherry? She used to live in the canyon, not sure if she is still there or not. Thank you also for sharing Christmas Eve Supper with Steve and I, it was a wonderful time enjoying eachother and connecting.Thank you to you both! I look forward to your blog and your beautiful art. Peace

    January 17, 2010 at 6:10 am

  5. Just a note to say goodluck this year and with your new blog site!! Can’t wait to see all the happenings with your endeavor!!

    January 18, 2010 at 7:46 pm

  6. Janet Villers

    Surprise Carolyn! When reading your blog I think of all the “magical” creations you always had displayed in your shop back in … yes, Ohio. I miss you very much! Love the blog. Janet

    January 27, 2010 at 6:49 pm

  7. Brenda Iwami

    Carolyn…I finally found you! Will you be at the PVQA Quilt Fair? I hope so. (If not, perhaps I can commission you to make my annual “folk art” pin cushion.) I really enjoyed reading about your new life. Your talent follows you wherever you go, so you will do great in any town, any state. You are missed! Brenda

    February 9, 2010 at 7:35 pm

  8. Hi Carolyn~ I wanted to let you know there were sign ups for your class but two of them (sisters) had to cancel due to family illness and one other canceled to go out of town so that left only one student and me….I think we should offer it in Oct/Nov and it will be a hit!!! I want to invite you to our applique club night on the first and third monday of each month from 5:30 to 8:00, its a bring your own project and enjoy the company and its free, just call ahead and let us know you are coming! Talk to you soon.
    Carmen:)

    February 10, 2010 at 5:23 am

Leave a Reply

