Expressions of the Soul

What Ever Shall I say?

Pin Cushions

Yes, that thought has been running through my mind now, for weeks…every time I consider writing something for my blog!
Constantly writing and telling how much it is raining (which is good for life to sustain itself) or how I cannot force myself to do something productive in the studio would be rather boring or at the very least reinforcing whatever “state” my mind is in. So, I came to the conclusion that my mom always reminded me – “If you do not have anything good to say, say nothing at all!” Wouldn’t she be proud of me now!
The above photo is of a group of pincushions I made from a variety of old oddities I have come across. They are filled with wool to keep your pins rust-free and the top is cotton velvet. What do you think of them?
My mind keeps going back to Haiti and wondering how life has changed for so many in just a few seconds. The fundraiser organized by George Clooney was beautifully done. I was very moved by Justin Timberlake’s song “Hallelujah” where he features a young man by the name of Matt Morris. First of all, Justin Timberlake? He’s from my daughter’s generation…which got me to thinking about what a nice young man he has turned into. He has his own record label now and Matt Morris is his first signed artist. You may be asking yourself, “How does she know all this?” Well, from the best source for all things…Ellen DeGeneres! She is so generous and makes me laugh, cry, and often dance!
I have been doing more than just watching Ellen and listening to Itunes! Like getting ready for the PVQA annual quilt show in Watsonville, CA, the last weekend in February. It is always a wonderful show (my eighth year there!). I have a new pattern ready to go to the quilt show. It is a lovely long pincushion, a sweet needlebook, and a cute scissor fob. What is the purpose of a scissor fob? Well, it just helps you keep track of the whereabouts of your scissors, which is especially helpful if you are in a group setting, so you don’t get them mixed up with someone elses or (gasp!) forget them entirely!
Our local quilt shop (HoneyRun Quilts) advertised a class for my wool flowers…exactly no one signed up for it. I had mixed emotions about that and after I dusted off my ego, I figured there was something better for that particular day for me to do. Perhaps it just isn’t time yet. It took me quite a while to get up the courage to even commit to teaching a class, but I will be open to the opportunity another time!
In addition to the aforementioned pattern I am working on a second new pattern offering. This is a sewing roll unlike any other I have done. All I’ll say is it features a cute little bird… Bet you are curious now!
Oh! I almost forgot! This coming May 1 and 2, I have been accepted as an artist for a show put on by Three Speckled Hens in Templeton, CA! I am just so excited I can hardly stand it…but I really have to get it together for that one as it is my first time presenting my work to the public in that area of California. I have shown several items to my friend Bonnie, who owns just the most darling shop in Cambria, called Birds of a Feather. She encouraged me to contact the “Hens”, which I did and the rest is history!
Well now, as I reread what I just wrote it becomes very apparent I need to go take a walk and wrap my head around what I need to tackle first for there certainly are many avenues I can travel in preparation toward upcoming events. Thank you for taking the time to visit, feel free to leave a comment (a true joy to my heart), and tell your friends to do the same!

5 responses

  1. Cheryl Snyder

    Hey, Carolyn — so looking forward to you being in this area for the PVQuilt Show!! Sure miss you right now! Looking forward to having you guys over when you come back “home”. Your new pattern sounds really cool — and what great news for the big show in Cambria — I may have to make a trip down south!! Do you need help? See you in a couple — Love you and miss you! Cheryl

    February 10, 2010 at 2:15 am

  2. Joan DeCoster

    I love reading these…it’s like having you here. Horrible blizzard last weekend in Valley Forge…slow sales. We are at the moment in a motel in Brooksville Fla., D,J,’s old home town. He is going to meet up with some old classmates…and we’ll antique a bit. Congrats. on the Hens show, know they will love all your goodies. Miss and Love you, Joan

    February 10, 2010 at 2:49 am

  3. David

    Every time you write, I am more proud of you as a deepening artist with vision, commitment, and a sense of the absurd that is essential in this odd world. I know I am biased, but your work, and the ethic behind it, is just magnificent.

    February 10, 2010 at 10:33 pm

  4. Julie

    Dear Carolyn,
    I’m glad that you will be at the quilt fair and I hope to see you there. Miss seeing you on my walks with George! Love,

    Julie

    February 12, 2010 at 6:05 am

  5. I’m so glad you’re coming down for the show! I had several people ask me at the last meeting if you’d be there. I told them I hoped so! And I look forward to catching up with you!
    Robin

    February 14, 2010 at 11:12 pm

Leave a Reply

