Expressions of the Soul

Fresh Air or Which Way Does the Wind Blow?

Yes, I am so glad Spring is officially here.  I have two windows open and can hear the chimes – of which I have eight or nine different ones – all chiming at different times.  Folks ask why so many and don’t they all sound the same?  I tell them, they are like children, you can tell them apart by the sound each makes!  To me, it is like a symphony and never the same twice.

We went to the local Home and Garden show yesterday afternoon.  It was such a lovely afternoon.  After strolling through most everything, my poor husband was tired.  I parked him in the shade, at a picnic table with a Hawaiian Shave Ice while I ran back through the antique building one more time. There were some lovely things there and I always miss several booths as my head spins around from seeing all those treasures everywhere.  I did find a box with several sets of metal alphabets in various sizes to use in jewelery making!  Even a few items which will show up transformed into pincushions to take to my next show.  Of course a new display piece for my booth at the 3 Speckled Hens show in Templeton, CA, May 1 and 2!

This past weekend also found us us in Reno, Nevada for a Ukulele convention.  Yes, there is such a thing.  Who knew?  There were some beautiful master ukulele performers who played classical music and a wide variety of other styles.  David went as a vendor selling his beautiful shirts, bags, aprons, wallets, and hats he creates.  People just loved them.  I think he is going to be a busy guy!

Today I spent the morning moving things around in my studio getting prepared to begin work in earnest for my next show – which will come all too quickly and I’ll say I need another week to get ready!  The photo above is of a wonderful piece of old tablecloth I found at one of my favorite places in Santa Cruz.  It has major holes, but I just had to rescue it and after looking at it in a little pile on the floor for three weeks I instantly knew where it belonged!  It graces my one of my studio windows.  I pinned the holes and am just in love with how it makes the entire room feel different.

Next week I am going to Phoenix to spend a week with my daughter, Mindy and her little pug, Stella.  I haven’t seen them since we all moved from Aptos in July.  We talk nearly every day on the phone and Instant Message during the day some days.  So, with the webcam I could watch her open her birthday gifts I sent her via the mail!  It wasn’t the same as being there, but I wouldn’t have traded it for anything.  I have a list of places to visit while in Phoenix.  Many of them are places to eat we saw on the Food Network’s Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives!  I am taking my walking shoes otherwise I might not be allowed back on the plane to come home!  I’ve decided which bead stores, rubber stamp store, quilt shop and folk art stores – not to mention the various Goodwill stores…we have an actual list!  There are so many places there I do not have access to here –  I am soooooooooo ready!  Of course I will have to take things to work on while I am there, as we cannot be shopping and eating the entire time, or can we?

Also, next week the new Somerset publication called “Prims” comes to news stands.  I am looking forward to seeing what other folks are doing.  I may even screw up the courage to send them a piece of my work…we’ll see which way the wind is blowing when it comes time to actually do it!

We did manage to sneak in a couple of quilt stores on our trip.  That means today is laundry day…have to wash those new fabrics to use in my next project!  It is amazing how inspiring seeing new places makes you so excited to create something new when you return to the familiar.

Thank you for taking the time to read this.  Be sure you leave me a comment and tell a friend or three to do the same!  Have a lovely breezy spring day!

One response

  1. Joan DeCoster

    Love reading these and love ya’ll

    March 23, 2010 at 12:08 pm

Leave a Reply

