Expressions of the Soul

Remember when…

Isn’t that a beautiful rose?  Remember when roses used to smell like, well, roses?  Just to put your mind at ease, this rose smells just like it is supposed to or just like I remember roses smelling.  This got me to thinking about how over the years the number of times I stuck my nose right up next to a beautiful blossom hoping to have that lovely fragrance caress my olfactory glands only to have my hopes dashed with the smell of nothingness!

What else in life have we given up in the name of beauty or speed?  I would say the first thing that comes to my mind is good, tasteful food, shared with friends and family.  Remember walking into the house and the smell of dinner cooking just made you all the hungrier?  I cannot tell you the number of gatherings where the appetizer, dessert, or even the main course was bought from some big box store and was totally unsatisfying – not to mention totally tasteless – not to mention unhealthy!  Do we really know where our food comes from these days?  Most of us don’t really pay attention to the source.  It looks good in the store and is on sale…put it in the cart!  As you can tell, I have been doing a fair amount of research on this subject matter and am aware of how far out of touch with our food we have gotten.

Okay, enough on that topic.  I will move on to family and friends.  We have all this wonderful technology for keeping in touch with loved ones near and far.  I will say though, we live in an age where we travel and live all over the globe often far apart from those we love.  The modern devices open up opportunities for us to learn and know what is going on in the lives of others, but, this does not take the place of holding a dear friend’s hand or looking directly into the eyes of your mother or father or that newborn baby.  There is something lost, a sense we do not get to use, a dimension that I often remember and miss terribly.  Species adapt to their environments.  Are we to lose the ability to smell, taste and feel?  Does that take some of our humaness away?

The other afternoon while David and I were walking there was a butterfly just sitting still on the pavement.  I watched him (?) for a little while and realized he was not afraid of my being near him.  Concerned for his safety I scooped him up and put him in my hat so I could take him home and photograph him.  During my return trip home I thought about all the transformation this butterfly went through to get to this place in Life.  He was totally unaware of his beauty in the world.   I wanted to share his beauty and remember that no matter what is going on in life, there is a creative force we cannot deny.  He stayed the night right where the photos were taken.  I sliced up two strawberries for him and he did visit them.  Pretty soon as I stood there again marveling at his beauty, he gently floated up in the air, back toward the woods where I found him.  What a gift he gave my heart.

Well, I just remembered when I began this I was  working on two beautiful hearts to take with me to Templeton, May 1 and 2.  Thank you for visiting, please leave me a comment and remember to tell your friends to do the same.

One response

  1. Joan DeCoster

    miss you…

    April 24, 2010 at 2:17 pm

Leave a Reply

