Expressions of the Soul

It’s a new day!

I know, no big revelation, a new day. One comes every 24 hours, doesn’t it? Some days are just so big they seem to overshadow the ones in their wake.
This day began in the middle of the night. I kept thinking about that pattern I began earlier in the week. It should have taken two days to complete and here it is, day FOUR and I am done typing, but only because I got up at 3:30 a.m. to work on it! Just as well, I wasn’t sleeping anyway. (Boy, has my fantasy life changed!) It only took me five hours to type. Not because I am a slow typist, but because it is a huge pattern! More like a booklet. Now I have to actually finish making it and take the photo…that’s all. Well, there is the drawing of the pattern pieces, but, I saved all those, so I am feeling confident I can produce those in a small amount of time. Guess I know what my goal is for today – in addition to a nap somewhere along the (time) line.
Last Saturday, David tempted me with a little adventure. Usually I say something like, “No! You know I have this BIG show coming up in just a few weeks and I have those two patterns to get done for it…” Well, I decided to take him completely off guard and say, “Okay, how soon shall we leave?” Which I did and within ten minutes we (to include Pearle) were in the car zooming our way toward Old Roseville, CA to a little shop called The Tattered House (www.thetatteredhouse.com).
You never know what to expect when you travel to someplace new. We parked right in front as Sandy (one of the owners) was placing some treasures that had me drooling at hello! She was thrilled to meet Pearle and welcomed her to roam freely about the lovely displays inside. I had the best time meeting and getting acquainted with Sandy and her charming shop. The heart in the picture above happened as a result of that little keyhole that I found in a box in the front room. The heart I had made weeks earlier and knew it would be trimmed with the rouched edging, but then what…and it all became clear the moment the keyhole was made part of my studio.
That heart will travel with me to the BIG show in a few weeks, meaning the trip was well justified. I just cannot wait to go back and see what other inspirational goodies I’ll find there. That was the day that left the following one in its wake!
Speaking of goodies, I have copies of the new magazine, “A Primitive Place” for sale. They are $8.95, plus $2.65 shipping. Let me know how many copies you would like!
Okay, I am feeling empowered and ready to finish up that pattern and get it ready to print! Thank you for reading. I look forward to your comments. Please tell your friends to come visit as well. Have a beautiful summer’s day.

2 responses

  1. SO good to see you at LSB & I love my new gypsy threads. Always a special treat to myself. The new French heart is so lovely. Belated b’day blessings to David. Enjoy the rest of the summer and send some warmth this way!

    hugs – re

    August 6, 2010 at 5:43 pm

  2. Dear Mother of Pearle, David, and Pearle,
    It was a pleasure serving you all today in our little shop in Roseville. We so love being an inspiration to others, especially artists such as yourselves. Thanks for sharing your heart (literally and figuratively) with us and we look forward to seeing you again. I cant wait for you to meet Erika! I told her all about you all, too!
    Sandy.

    August 7, 2010 at 6:13 pm

Leave a Reply

