Expressions of the Soul

Dirty Hands

When the time has arrived for me to get really serious in my production for an upcoming show my focus is just that. Who needs laundry, groceries, meals, a clean(ish) house, a conversation, sleep, or anything that is remotely social? But, as fate has it those are the very things that insist on horning in on my muse!
What does this have to do with dirty hands? Well, everything. It seems that I am most happy when the patina I apply to my work is at its deepest intensity. Not everything receives the full treatment or treatment at all for some of the fabrics are beautiful just as they are, stained and well used! But, as usual, I have become distracted by my thoughts… At this point I am nearing panic mode in preparation for our journey to Minneapolis and things are flying every which way so careful application of “patina” is only a good intention. No time for brushes. Full on immersions and then into the hot rays of the sun. Since I have abandoned the use of brushes, my hands are the tools and when my work gets “patina” so also do my hands.
If you have ever encountered me during this stage you may have noticed I frequently forget to comb my hair, wear my clothes inside out, and of course, my hands look like the haven’t seen a bar of soap in decades. My fingernails look like you could plant carrots there – when all the while it is just the “patina”. Yes, it is just stain. Semi-permanent stain. Try explaining that to the clerk at the store when I go to find SOMETHING to wear two days before we leave. People don’t know whether I am telling a story or the truth. It sounds so, so, so (imagine long pauses here!) ODD! Not everyone works with “patina” and certainly they think if they did, proper precautions would be taken so their hands wouldn’t look so, so, so (pausing?) DIRTY!
Okay, I am ready to get back to cutting my freshly patina-ed (what is the past tense of patina?) seam binding to send off to Minneapolis ahead of my arrival. Oh, and did I mention I have 700 – yes that is not a typo – 700 of these gems to prepare? Yes that is the number. Do you know how long it takes to tie a knot in 700 strings? There are some of you that might pipe up and say “Yes! We have helped you before with your knots!” And I say, “Thank you! If you would like to come help me and my dirty hands finish, I’ll leave the light on!”
Thank you for reading. It is time to get back to the lab…I need a new batch of “patina”!

4 responses

  1. What the heck is patina?

    August 16, 2010 at 5:30 pm

  2. Cheryl Snyder

    I remember those hands and that flurry of preparation well — although probably not to the intensity of your plans for Minneapolis! When do you leave? ROAD TRIP!!!! Yeaaaa! I love road trips! Think my parents are a bit out of the way for you to stop by, but they would be thrilled, I’m sure, if you had the time! And there is a bed and fresh cinnamon rolls!!! Have fun! Looking forward to hearing about your MN trip!!

    August 17, 2010 at 9:00 pm

  3. Ben Jett

    Oh, I remember well the tying of knots and punching of holes.

    August 18, 2010 at 7:24 am

  4. Oh my! You sound like me! It’s 24 days and counting!
    Can’t wait!
    Sharon

    August 22, 2010 at 1:19 am

Leave a Reply

