Expressions of the Soul

Bags under my eyes

Nice to know that in the midst of all the preparation I have not lost my sense of humor! Now, where my good scissors are is another thing entirely. So, those bags are packages of goodies awaiting to be discovered by the folks attending the Creative Connection in just two little weeks. I went through my stash of items I have collected over the years and faced up to the fact that I am not going to live long enough to use up everything I have. Pretty mature of me, right? (Hint the correct answer, is, “Why, yes you ARE very mature for a person of your age!”)
Last week the box of goodies, all 750 of them, got in the mail and hopefully have arrived where they were supposed to go. We had help getting them assembled and packaged up and it still took until 11:00 p.m. to put the last one to bed – so to speak.
Just like most shows I prepare for there are a number of things I do not get to make. Decisions have to be made as to what will get crossed off the list. Not always an easy thing to do – facing up to “reality”. I always tell myself around 4:00 p.m. I can stay up just a little bit later and finish this one thing. Generally, by 10:30 p.m. my old eyes just give out and then I realize other parts of me have given out as well. Sigh. I am done for the day.
About five weeks ago, David and I joined a local fitness club. It isn’t the fanciest one in town, but they do have racquetball courts. That was the deal-breaker for us. Now, I haven’t been on a racquetball court for, oh, let’s say, two decades, and I wasn’t all that good then! Not to mention, I no longer own my own racquet. So, I went to our local thrift store, and found us two decent racquets for the price of $1.99 each, and it was 30% off day! I must say, they have worked well for us, on the level we are on! That level ensures we breathe hard and sweat profusely so, it must be doing us some good, right? It is not a pretty sight, but we do get a few laughs along the way. I also have been working out three or so times during the week (often because my daughter says just the right thing to get me up and out the door) and I AM starting to tell a difference. I can actually balance on one leg again and put my underware on. TMI? Well, if you are any where near my age, you are smiling about right now! So, all that said, I am feeling pretty good about myself and do have more stamina to stay up to even finish a thing or two late into the night!
Conclusion? There are bags under my eyes – both on the floor, full of goodies and the ones accompanied by dark circles on my face!
All I can say, is thank you for reading, telling a friend to read, and leaving me a comment. See you soon!

4 responses

  1. Pam Runner

    Carolyn, I am sure your trip and the show will be fantastic. I just wish we lived close to the show…it sounds wonderful! Last note…you have inspired me to get on my treadmill today.
    Have a safe trip.
    Pam

    September 3, 2010 at 12:06 am

  2. Taffra Purnsley

    I am so excited for you! I can’t wait to hear more about your trip. I will see you at Quilts in the garden. Be safe and live every moment to the fullest while you are there.
    Taffra

    September 3, 2010 at 2:57 am

  3. Elaine

    I just got home from the Handmade Market and I LOVED your booth. Thank you SO much for all the efforts you and yours made to come. Hope to see you there again.

    September 18, 2010 at 7:14 pm

  4. Karyl Brabbit

    I was so excited to attend the Creative Connection. Hope it went well for you. We had a great time talking to you. You do such a beautiful job on your creations. i bought a few things from you including some little tin molds that I’m working right now.

    Hope you had a safe trip home and enjoyed your trip to Minnesota.

    Karyl

    October 5, 2010 at 6:36 pm

Leave a Reply

