Expressions of the Soul

Sweet Days

The Last of the Summer Flowers from my Window to the World
The Last of the Summer Flowers from my Window to the World

These fall days are so sweet.  The sight of the leaves as they turn colors and take away your breath.  The gentle sounds as they drop off the branch and float to the ground.  The wind catching them and creating a dance any choreographer would love to create for their best dancers.  The smell of smoke coming from the neighbor’s fireplace as they take the chill off from the cool evening air.  The sore muscles that come from preparing the gardens for the next season to come.  Those muscles are a gentle reminder of how good it feels to know how worth it all it is as the new growth will reappear in just a few short months.  And then the taste of warm cider, a bowl of soup, and just maybe a nice piece of crusty bread.  Yes, fall is a sweet time of year.

My final show for this year is Saturday, December 4, in Los Altos, CA.  Normally by this time in the process I have so much inspiration that I know I will never be able to create all that I want to share due to the lack of time.  This year, not the case as “it” seems to be evading me.  That is due in a major part to the one individual that always puts a pall on the show – at least for me.  There, I have said it for the whole world to know.  If it weren’t for all those lovely folks who come to share their life events, stories, and love, I would consider not being a part of this show.  It is them that keep me going.  Maybe I have just turned into that cranky old lady we all fear of becoming!  HOWEVER, there are some new and exciting things coming with me to that show from the studio.  I hope you will delight in them as much as I have in bringing them to life.  More details as to the times (which are different than in years past) and the location (still the same).

Two weekends ago I was all set to travel to Alameda for the huge flea market there.  I have been wanting to go for about six years.  Plans were made for leaving at 4:00 a.m. for the nearly four hour journey.  I even found someone willing to accompany me.  Then a huge storm decided to change my mind!  I am glad I decided to not go, as they closed the flea market shortly before noon.  Can you imagine how disappointing it would have been, not getting to visit with all 800 vendors? lol!

So, to soothe my restless flea market bug I waited one additional week and visited the Sacramento Flea Market.  There so many vendors with really interesting items.  I left after about 2 1/2 hours to go to Roseville to the Tattered House.  They were having a yard sale – after having been rained out of Alameda the previous Sunday!  I did manage to find a few treasures there.  Make sure to stop by their shop sometime, you will not regret a bit!

So, it was back to the flea market to finish looking at the places I did not get to visit the first part of my day.  As I was wandering about, I met a wonderful vendor who had great primitives and as I got to looking at her I realized she was a vendor at the Speckled Hens show I do in Paso Robles.  As a matter of fact, she was right across the room from me.  AND the one piece I had so drooled over during the show was in her booth, there, right in front of me!  After some visiting and talking I choose three pieces to come be a part of our home.  I warned her we would have to be clever in getting them into my little Scion.  With a little help from her neighbor across the way, we managed to wiggle them all aboard for the trip home.  It is a good thing I was alone, for the front seat was as far forward as it could go!  I’ll bet I walked ten miles that day.  Each and every step was worth it.

It is hard to believe it is Thanksgiving.  Looks like it is just David and myself for the holiday.  Poor David.  Thanksgiving with a cranky old lady.  Hopefully with some wine, stuffing and of course a pumpkin pie, perhaps David will only have to spend the day with his old lady!  What are your plans for the holiday?

Well, I am grateful for each of you who take the time to read the ramblings of some mad old lady (that is from Bridges of Madison County-where I got to go visit this summer!).  Please leave me a comment and I appreciate it when you encourage a friend to visit as well.  Take a moment to do something kind for someone.  Even a smile or a little extra patience makes the world a kinder, gentler place.  Happy Thanksgiving!

 

4 responses

  1. Sheila

    Thank you for the lovely reminder to take in all the beauty of ever changing autumn. Good=luck on your lovely creations. If you are in my neighborhood, please contact us.
    hugs, Sheila

    November 18, 2010 at 4:47 am

  2. Taffra Purnsley

    I look forward to seeing you in Los Altos. i will probably be in Chico around Thanksgiving so will call. Maybe we can share a cup of tea.
    Taffra

    November 19, 2010 at 4:18 am

  3. Cheryl Snyder

    Hey Dear Friend — always enjoy reading your meanderings. Gotcha on the calendar for Dec 4th. Wonder if those wonderful people with the great toffee will be there! And always so fun to see Emily. We are heading to ND for Thanksgiving to see the folks. Mom is pretty excited and Owen hasn’t been back there for quite some time — in fact, same time as you went with us. You and David always manage to turn a quiet day into a special event and I’m certain that’s true this year as well. Peace and Blessings, Love, C.

    November 19, 2010 at 5:09 am

  4. Pingback: 2010 in review « Gypsy's Threads

Leave a Reply

