Expressions of the Soul

3242

thoughts to share

Collection of bits and thoughts

Curious just what those numbers mean, aren’t you?  I was shocked when I looked at the number.  Then as I processed it, I realized it was no wonder I was feeling so overwhelmed and not able to get started on anything.

I won’t keep you waiting any longer.  3242 is the number of emails I deleted from my email inbox!  Now, that was not for just one month.  It was cumulative…much like the cookies I ate over the holidays…but not nearly as many cookies as emails!  I was ruthless with my deletion process and there will probably be a time in the future I will be crestfallen because I deleted something I really needed.  But, there does come a time when you just have to do things like that.  Guess I was a hoarder of emails.  There I admit it.  No more!  Just like the real mail, I’ll open it when I get it and either deal with it right then by either answering or filing it or deleting it!

It sounds silly, but I do feel better having done the monumental task of saying farewell to 3242 thoughts and ideas shared with me.  I also unsubscribed myself from at least fifty sites.  That will help shrink the influx of emails.  Just like the cookies, I understand how it all builds up!  As a matter of fact I almost signed up for something a little while ago…thought it over and said, “No, thanks!”

My resolve to begin all those projects that had my heart and head on fire a month ago did not happen.  I realized I was really tired after the schedule of the past four months.  Once I admitted that, I was (sort of) content to just be for a great many days in a row.  I was aware I was not really even open to motivation, and guess what, it did not find me either!

I did get the Christmas tree, et al, put away yesterday as well.  Wow!  It was a big day for me!

One last little sparkle in the beginning of this new year.  Last Saturday we took a little drive, just to get out of town.  The nearest town around us is a good distance away, but we decided to not let that deter us.  I looked up online for antiques shops in the little town we had chosen for our destination.  The town is Willows and the shop that got me so excited was The Gathering.  In addition to The Gathering were four other antique-type shops!  When we finally found The Gathering, we were skeptical, as three of the other shops were not open!  Not to worry…The Gathering was just what was needed!  Not only is it a charming shop with lovely treasures, but it is co-owned by none other than the mother of Corey Amaro, who writes the blog, Tongue in Cheek.  Well, I was just thrilled to pieces when I got to walk into the place where Corey had been, just a few weeks previously-especially knowing I could return another day!  I had made something for Corey, in September, and was not able to get it delivered to her in time for her visit to California (she lives in France and you MUST read her blog!).  So, I put it in the hands of the one who can send it to her!  What a moment that was for me!

So, I am 3242 kinds of grateful today, despite the rain, clouds, spouse with a busy, busy, busy work schedule because I am practically inbox-empty and guess, what?  Yes, I am inspiration renewed!

Thank you for reading.  Please pass me on to your friend, group of friends or anyone who loves antiques, textiles, food, and creativity.  Leave me a comment so I don’t feel all alone!  Lastly, do something kind for yourself and for someone you don’t even know.

4 responses

  1. Hi, Carolyn!
    I can sympathize with you and don’t you just feel better today without all those emails hanging over your head. I wanted to share with you what I have done JUST FOR ME! For over 33 years I have saved all my little project monies for just one purchase and yesterday my grand piano was delivered. I am the church pianist and I knew as long as I lived I would always want this piano. It’s just like the one I play at church and it’s the most spectacular “toy” I’ve ever owned! I can’t stop playing it!
    I had just today sent you an email about the wood trim and when I could expect it. So I was happy to see your email come in. We have winter to get recharged for the next shows – I wish I could go antiquing with you. I’d love it but I’ll have to wait for spring weather.
    Hope you’re feeling rejuvenated!
    Mary Etherington
    Country Threads

    January 14, 2011 at 1:05 am

  2. Pam Runner

    I really enjoy reading your blog. It inspires me to do something different. Also, I want to tell you that your suggestion about the dry erase board for the Covered Bridge drawings really worked good this year. Thank you for your input.Keep the blogs coming!
    Pam

    January 17, 2011 at 7:07 pm

  3. I found you – our mutual friend Twitter recommended you:) I’m so glad I followed her/his advice! Your are an amazingly talented artist and a mutual hoarder of emails. I think I hoard them because I think if I will get back to it, look at the links, do something with it. I keep papers and mail in sight for the same reason ~ my husband goes crazy with it as he is VERY neat. I’m not complaining – you gotta love a neat husband:)

    January 22, 2011 at 8:49 am

  4. I’m not sure how I ‘found’ you, but I sure am glad that I discovered your blog! You make the coolest stuff! In an old entry you mentioned a quilt show held at a nursery in Livermore – so now I’m thinking that I might head to CA in Sept and take my mom to that – looks like it was so much fun!

    February 9, 2011 at 2:59 am

Leave a Reply

