Expressions of the Soul

Finally!

The "Gypsy" with the new banner!

The "Gypsy" with the new banner!

Yes, finally a new post. The concept of blogging seems so easy. Just share a few thoughts on a regular basis. Well, there you have it. I guess my thoughts are not so easily shared these days.

The one thought I will share is what an adventure last weekend was in San Francisco at the Symphony of Color quilt show at the Concourse Exhibition Center. It was a lovely venue with plenty of space for viewing the quilts and the lighting was excellent. The space was large and there was ample room for those who wanted to take their time right where they were standing to enjoy what was right in front of them. All the while, allowing those who were in a bit more of a hurry to observe and move along!

We got unloaded and set up in a mere six hours…with about an hour’s time the following morning to get the booth adjusted for the public’s viewing. It was a long day. Fortunately, David drove the three and a half hours there. I was whipped when we got home from dinner on Friday. Dinner. Oh, dinner was wonderful. We ate at a place that has been serving food since 1908. If I could remember the name of the restaurant that would be helpful, wouldn’t it? I do remember it was on Ellis Street. We walked there from our hotel. Hotel Metropolis, right in the Tenderloin of San Francisco. There were all sorts of individuals around with stories to tell. Living life in a big city is very different. It was cold, cold, cold!

I did meet some lovely, lovely folks at the show on Saturday. It was a bit bittersweet. For the past nine years I have done the quilt show in Watsonville, CA. Not seeing all those familiar faces haunted me, but I wanted to see how the folks in a different area took to Gypsy Threads. I must say, it was a nice surprise!

After taking a full day to unwind and then another to begin digging out from the debris of preparing for a show I am nearly back to (my) normal. It is still winter, as winter is here in Chico. I am looking forward to blue skies and warmer temps. I know, I have nooooooo room to complain compared to other places. But, I do feel the toll – mostly around my waistline!

Thank you for reading. Please leave me a comment so I feel connected to the world “out there.” Let me know what you are looking forward to come Spring. I will have at least three new patterns available soon and one of them is a butterfly for your sewing chair!!!! Be kind to yourself and someone you never met.

5 responses

  1. Robin West

    Love the new banner. And I missed you and David last weekend!
    Glad your new venture worked out well.

    March 3, 2011 at 1:00 am

  2. Joan DeCoster

    so happy for your good show…will call soon with amazing things…love you

    March 3, 2011 at 1:47 pm

  3. Your banner is spectacular!

    March 3, 2011 at 6:12 pm

  4. Love the picture! I’ll bet the booth looked great.

    March 4, 2011 at 10:40 pm

  5. Brenda Iwami

    Missed you at the PVQA Quilt Show, but am thrilled you are finding new horizons with an appreciation for you and your craft!

    March 5, 2011 at 3:38 am

Leave a Reply

