Expressions of the Soul

Something New

Bless the Bees!

Many new things have come into my life recently. Some good and others, not so good.
Let’s begin with the most recent. This morning I activated the latest tool for my business. It is called a Square (to be found at SquareUp.com). It allows you (the business owner) to accept debit/credit cards on your IPhone or IPad!!!!! Now, get ready for this next part…the little Square is about 1.5″ square and attaches right to your device!!!!! You swipe the card on the Square and the customer signs the screen. Done deal! But, that is not truly the best part. No, the best part is it is FREE and there is no annual contract or fee if you do NOT use it! A small amount per transaction is charged, but it is a very reasonable amount and opens the way for better sales. Let’s face it, how many of us carry cash any more? And, from the viewpoint of a business owner, checks are very rarely a problem, but every once in awhile it does happen! The funds go right to your own bank account. I cannot wait to try it out. I’ll let you know how it works for me.

The next new thing is, I discovered the actual carpet that covers the floor of my studio. I only discovered it after spending hours (no exaggeration here) putting wool and fabrics and paper and buttons and on and on back in their proper places. I vacuumed, which required relocating Pearle several times, and when we were done, we both agreed it was worth the effort. So much so, I finished a piece I began before the San Francisco quilt show last month. Yes, that is it at the beginning of this blog. What do you think? Leave me a comment so I’ll know if I should create others like it.

While cleaning and creating it became clear that the system of organizing my DMC floss that I put into place 30+ years ago had outgrown its confines. Off to a variety of stores to procure supplies (which included a label maker! I know, how did I ever get along without one all these years?) and after HOURS of reworking the system, it is, at last in place and from my initial use, seems to be just what I wanted. That means I can EASILY find, retrieve, use and return the floss I am looking for and it is much closer to my stitching chair. Wonderful.

Next on the new list was I heard from The Creative Connection Event (which I participated in as a vendor last year) that the registration will begin on April 4, with returning vendors being able to register first! I must say, I am very impressed. They actually listened, heard, and adjusted the concerns of those of us who were there last year. That kind of effort and respect goes a long way in my book. So, just as soon as I have registered I’ll let you know! The dates are September 15-17, 2011 in St Paul, Minn. at the Crowne Plaza.

The last events are the sad ones. The past few weeks several people who were a part of our lives quite unexpectedly left this earthly path. Each one left such a vacant place in my heart. It still hurts to think they just are no longer here. I don’t know if these feelings are more intense now that I am nearer the same path, but it really moved me in a way that even my mom and dad’s passing did not. Bill, Lisa, and Grandpa Jett, I miss you, every day.

Thank you for taking the time to read my thoughts. I hope there is something new/and/or wonderful that happens in your life today. Thank you also for telling your friends to check out my blog and leave me a comment as well. Remember to think about what it is in life you want…not what you do not want…you will notice a big difference if you can try that out for awhile. Be kind to yourself and someone you do not even know.

2 responses

  1. So sorry to hear that you’re hurting and missing loved ones……..

    Such a tease to post without ANY pictures of your newly clean studio, and your new storage solution for floss, and your newly finished piece. I WANNA SEE!

    Thanks for the info about the SquareUp. I shared it with my hubby who is involved with organizing an annual bike ride – lots of folks register & want to pay when they arrive (the day of the event) and last year they were shocked that there was no way to pay their fee using a card. This will work perfectly for that!

    March 15, 2011 at 4:29 pm

  2. Carol–so glad you’re loving the Square that I introduced you to at the SF Quilters’ Guild Show last month. It was great meeting you and David in person. Thanks for all your advice –fun being your neighbor for 2 days!

    So sorry to hear about the sadness in your life at this time.

    Robin

    March 15, 2011 at 5:55 pm

Leave a Reply

