Expressions of the Soul

Lists

A place for everything....

This morning I am preparing to leave for Aptos, CA, to do a show in La Selva Beach this coming Saturday at their Community Center from 10 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. It is a nice little show and their is no admission charge. A variety of local folks bring plants, garden items, pottery, a few antiques, and lots of creative treasures for gifts for friends and family or just yourself. Generally I am outside, but this show I am doing by myself, so I opted for an easier setup – all to fit in my little car! You will find me just inside the door of the Community Center.

Of course, any time I am getting ready to travel I have lists. Lists of things I wish to create and how many of each. Lists of things to pack. Lists of things I need to take with me to work on before and during a show (and, no, I haven’t “learned” I don’t always get time to complete anything!) Lists of ideas of things to do when I return to my studio. To save you a lot of eyestrain, I will say, that I have tremendous ambitions and would need about fifty hours in a day to complete any one of those lists. Now, being a prudent person, I do not discard those lists. Why? Often there are sketches of something I want to create that I did not get done in those little 24 hour days. And, to my credit, it may take me months, even years, but I have noticed I have actually gone back and done several items I have been pining after for years. As a matter of fact, I did one item for this show (no exaggeration, honest) I have been wanting to do for fifteen years. Yes, years. It was on a list!

Inside of the box

Here is a big surprise…this box was on a list! I love boxes and think there are others who do as well, I did wrap a lovely piece of vintage burlap around the outside. It will be with me on Saturday!

Okay, since I have all these lists awaiting me, I can cross off, “Blog” before leaving for Aptos. Thank you for taking the time to read. Leave a comment, if you would be so kind. Also, tell a few dozen of your friends about my mad rantings and ask them to leave me a comment as well…better yet, why not just follow me! Remember to be kind to yourself and someone you have never met before.

3 responses

  1. Pam Runner

    I love reading your Blog…I hope the show is fun and profitable as well.
    Best Wishes
    Pam Runner

    July 11, 2011 at 2:16 pm

  2. carol artz

    Hello, i just received your postcard inviting me to the Art,Antique and Craft Fair. I live in Santa Cruz so very close to the show. I will try and make it to see you. I am a seamstress and have a small studio where I make anything and everything. I spend 40 plus years in the fabric and craft business and now I am retired and doing what I love. I make all types of bags. Lined, unlined,quilted. Just for fun and well people do buy them.I now know who you are and look forward to reading all about what you do.

    July 11, 2011 at 10:08 pm

  3. Quality articles is the crucial to be a focus for the visitors to
    pay a visit the website, that’s what this web page is providing.

    April 10, 2013 at 8:54 pm

Leave a Reply

