Expressions of the Soul

Time and Tides Wait for No Man (or Woman)

Hello my patient friends.  Many of you are aware this summer has brought some unexpected changes into the rhythm of the life of Gypsy Threads.  I have been diagnosed with Stage 3 breast cancer and begin sixteen weeks of chemo starting tomorrow, August 20.  About three weeks following that will be surgery and then radiation.  The up side is, I will have lots of free time now that I don’t have to worry with those pesky chin hairs that suddenly show up when there is no tweezer in sight and loads of time not having to shave my legs!  I am sporting a cute SHORT haircut to show off my earrings and hide the patches as my hair leaves me for awhile.  What a terrific excuse for some cute soft hats!  What an opportunity to shed those pesky pounds I have nearly given up on!  See, there IS a bright side to all of this!

Guess you know that means my show schedule has been suspended for the foreseeable future.  Yes, that has been a tough pill to swallow.  I hope you will continue to keep David and me in your thoughts and prayers.  If it is a good day I plan on sharing some of what I will be up while on this journey.  I am very much at peace and trust the best outcome for my life.  All the doctors and every single person I have been entrusted to have treated me so kindly and professionally.  And, since you are wondering, Pearle is my greatest companion and very rarely leaves my side. 

Until we next meet, thank you for continuing your friendship and support – truly.

4 responses

  1. Taffra Mayo

    Carolyn, you and David are in my thoughts, my friend.
    You are and have been, an inspiration to me. I treasure the pieces I have that were made with your hands and you/they are an inspiration. Now I am awed by your strength and poise.
    I will keep you in my thoughts and look forward to hearing more from you soon. I may be a few miles away but would do anything to be of some help if ever you should need me.
    Taffra

    August 19, 2012 at 4:42 pm

    • Taffra, I truly appreciate your offer! If you are up this way visiting relatives please give me a call and perhaps you would have the time to stop for a visit!

      September 18, 2012 at 8:25 pm

  2. Jeff And Maria

    Carolyn,

    I met you a few years back at Livermore’s Quilting in the Garden. I had just finished chemo from my stage 3 diagnosis of colon cancer. It sounds like you have a great attitude and let me tell you, that helps tremendously. With faith, friends, family and a few good doctors you can get through this. My best to you friend. (I also left you a memo on Facebook as I was not sure which you would be reading).

    You are in my prayers,

    Maria Hedrick

    August 19, 2012 at 11:39 pm

  3. Brenda Iwami

    Dear Carolyn,
    I found I was having trouble collecting my thoughts to respond to your diagnosis. Your spirit is bright and you sound “full steam ahead”, so I will brave a comment as best I can. Cancer is a nasty business, and watching it take my husband nearly 15 yrs. ago has put a large lump in my throat thinking of all you have to go through. I truly pray for the best possible outcome for you and know your husband and friends will be there to hold you up. Don’t be afraid to ask questions of your health care providers…and don’t be afraid to ask others for help when you need it!
    Your friend,
    Brenda Iwami

    September 6, 2012 at 12:33 pm

Leave a Reply

