Expressions of the Soul

Fall Back

In battle sometimes an order is given for the troops to “fall back” during a battle.  That order comes for a reason determined by the commanding officer and generally is issued for the good of the troops.

 

In the fall of the year we “fall back” and set our clocks so we can make the most use of the daylight hours and save energy.  This takes a little getting used to.  None of us like the long nights that come so early. 

 

I am at the place where I am forced to “fall back.”  When I last posted I announced I am undergoing chemotherapy for breast cancer.  I am now down to my final two treatments!  Through all of this I have learned that kindness and a sense of humor can take you places you never dreamed possible.  Three weeks ago I went and did a sweet show in Willows.  David did the lions’ share of the setup and teardown.  It was good to be amidst folks and not consumed by doctor’s appointments and having blood drawn!  I was not feeling at my best and ended up in the hospital for five days.  I am grateful to say I am much better now, but still not back to my new “old” self – but I am working on it!

 

My next scheduled show is in February in Watsonville for the PVQA Quilt show.  This will probably be my last show for some time.  As it is looking now I will probably be unable to continue doing shows.  At some point in the spring I will host a huge sale in Chico to sell my remaining inventory, display, and things I use to  create Gypsy Threads things.  I will send out a post as to that date.

 

Thank you for reading.  For now I am “falling back” and grateful for good days, a caring spouse, and loving children.  If you wish to email me, do so @ buttons42@comcast.net.  I am having computer problems and cannot access my other account and cannot get to the Apple store to get it straightened out as it is 1 1/2 hours away, plus the “class” and travel back – too much!  Please be kind to yourself and someone you do not even know – even if it is a caring smile or gentle comment.    

2 responses

  1. Sandy Helin

    Carolyn, I’m so sorry to hear of your illness.
    Although I don’t know you well, you must know I am a huge fan of your work.
    I want you to know how much I treasure every single item of yours that blesses my life, and I have many. Pins, birds, needle holders (yes, multiple of these) wall pockets, and all the little etceteras who’s only purpose may be to bring joy to my life, which they do.
    I pray for your full recovery, and look forward to seeing you at the PVQA show.
    love, Sandy

    December 16, 2012 at 6:44 pm

  2. Connie Salmeri

    Hello Carolyn,

    I hope you are doing well since I saw you last in Carmel. It was a wonderful day as you were surrounded by many people who so enjoy the uniqueness of your work. I treasure the pieces I have gotten thru the years and look forward to seeing you this weekend at the PVQA show.

    Connie Salmeri

    February 18, 2013 at 5:17 pm

Leave a Reply

